AI news, with the context that matters.

Products & Services · ·

A notice of 62,500 Codex credits: who qualifies and what $2,500 means

A Pro 200 subscriber received a notice of 62,500 credits. We separate that individual notice from public documentation to explain API billing, the December 31 expiry, and changes to the regular usage allowance.

An additional 62,500 Codex credits, worth $2,500: that was the notice received on September 30, 2026 by a subscriber to the $200-a-month ChatGPT Pro plan. The number is large, but its value depends on more than the headline amount. The expiry date, eligible uses, and changes to the regular usage allowance all matter.

The recipient shared the contents of the notice with LATENT. It describes a temporary grant of 62,500 credits expiring December 31 and allowance changes from October 30. The author has confirmed that the credits appeared in their own account and that the balance decreased after the regular usage allowance was exhausted. This does not establish that all Pro subscribers have received the credits. Public information also does not establish every eligibility condition or eligible region.

Key points

  • The 62,500 credits are a temporary allowance for additional use of eligible services. They are not a cash payment or API balance.
  • The individual notice specifies December 31, 2026 as the expiry date. This should not be confused with the general validity period for purchased credits.
  • Changes to the regular allowance and additional credits need to be assessed separately. Conditions that remain after the credits run out determine the subscription's long-term usefulness.

Contents

  1. The notice and public help pages establish different things
  2. The $2,500 figure expresses the value of additional usage
  3. Credits cover additional Codex and Work usage, separately from API billing
  4. Extra charges depend on credit purchases and automatic top-ups
  5. How far a one-time grant offsets allowance changes depends on usage
  6. Check your own notice alongside your usage page

The notice and public help pages establish different things

This article draws on the notice received by a Pro 200 subscriber, the author's own usage report, and OpenAI's publicly accessible help pages. Conditions in the notice cannot simply be extended into an offer available to every user.

Item What the individual notice says
Subscription $200-a-month Pro
Additional amount A temporary 62,500 credits, equivalent to $2,500
Date received September 30, 2026
Expiry of the additional credits December 31, 2026
Regular allowance change From October 30, Work/Codex moves from 20x to 10x Plus
GPT-6 Pro allowance in Chat From 200 to 100 messages per week
Monthly price Unchanged

Source: the contents of a notice shared by its recipient. This records an individual notification, not uniform terms for every plan and region. The notification date is distinct from when credits actually appear in an account.

The public help page describes transitional arrangements that preserve the previous allowance for some existing Pro 200 subscribers. Those whose subscriptions were active at the eligibility cutoff, or during the preceding seven days, can retain the previous allowance through October 29, provided they keep their Pro 200 subscription active. Afterward, the allowance decreases while the monthly price remains $200. OpenAI says it will email affected users with details. OpenAI: Pro tiers and transitional arrangements

The notice's October 30 change date therefore aligns with the public help page. However, the page reviewed here does not specify the complete eligibility conditions for 62,500 credits, the eligible regions, or the precise subscription cutoff date and time. We cannot conclude that eligibility to retain the previous allowance and eligibility for the same credit grant are identical.

Equivalent grants to Plus, Pro 100, Pro 500, or Business users, and a universal grant to subscribers in Japan, remain unverified. The notice does not establish that signing up for Pro 200 now would qualify someone.

The $2,500 figure expresses the value of additional usage

Dividing the figures in the notice gives $0.04 per credit, or 25 credits per dollar.

62,500 ÷ 25 = $2,500 in usage value.

That conversion also matches public information. A separate OpenAI student program describes 2,500 credits as worth $100. Its eligible countries and expiry terms, however, belong to that separate program and cannot be applied to this Pro notice. OpenAI: Codex for Students

The dollar equivalent expresses the amount of usage available in monetary terms. Under the service credit terms, credits are not currency: they are for the service for which they were issued and are non-transferable. They are also generally not redeemable for cash. OpenAI: Service Credit Terms

The figure does not mean 12.5 free months of a $200 subscription. Although $2,500 divided by $200 equals 12.5, additional usage credits and subscription payments serve different purposes. The $2,500 discussed here is the notice's stated usage value, not a refund or a deposit into a bank account.

Credits are not a message count either. Codex calculates consumption using tokens, the smaller units into which text and other input are divided for processing. Consumption per request depends on the model, the amount of material read, and the response length. OpenAI: Pricing and how credits work

The following table shows credit consumption for processing one million tokens.

Model Input Output
GPT-6 Astra 250 1,250
GPT-6.1 Sol 50 250
GPT-6 Luna 2.5 12.5

Amounts are in credits, using Standard-speed rates from the official pricing page retrieved September 30, 2026. Cached input, which reuses previously read material, has separate rates. These are additional-credit consumption rates, not a table for calculating how much work a subscription includes. Official pricing

For example, Astra and Sol have different rates even when given documents of the same length. Real tasks may also involve further research or reading additional material, so counting clicks on the send button is a poor way to predict consumption. The figure 62,500 should not be converted into a universal number of questions you can ask.

Credits cover additional Codex and Work usage, separately from API billing

The public help pages list Codex, ChatGPT Work, and supported features in Word, Excel, and PowerPoint as eligible for credits. Availability varies by plan and account. Credits do not remove the limits on every ChatGPT model or feature. OpenAI: Additional Pro usage

Under the general mechanism, usage first comes out of the allowance included in the subscription; credits are consumed after that limit is reached. Work and Codex share usage, so research and document creation in Work, as well as coding, may draw on the balance. OpenAI: Credits for personal plans; Work and Codex pricing

The summary of the notice and the public documentation do not fully establish whether this particular grant has additional restrictions. The products normally supported by credits are not a guarantee that every one of them is unconditionally eligible for this grant.

People running their own applications through the API should take particular care with the distinction. ChatGPT and the API platform have separate billing systems. An increase in ChatGPT credits should not be treated as an increase in the API balance. OpenAI: ChatGPT and API billing

Codex can also be used with either a ChatGPT account or an API key. The latter is billed at API rates. Even within Codex, the sign-in method matters. OpenAI: Codex pricing

The reduction from 200 to 100 GPT-6 Pro messages per week described in the notice concerns the Chat message allowance. The sources reviewed here do not establish that 62,500 credits can make up that reduction.

Extra charges depend on credit purchases and automatic top-ups

Using granted credits and buying additional credits are separate actions. The notice's $2,500 equivalent should not be mistaken for a charge of that amount. Purchase history is the place to check whether a payment occurred.

Alongside manual purchases, the public help page describes automatic top-ups for supported accounts. When enabled, they purchase credits and charge the saved payment method when the balance falls below a threshold, replenishing it to a specified target. Where a monthly automatic top-up limit is available, that limit does not apply to manual purchases. OpenAI: Automatic top-ups for personal plans

To keep extra costs under control, check not only the balance but whether automatic top-ups are enabled, the trigger threshold, the target balance, and purchase history. Even a large grant makes it worth understanding what happens after it runs out.

The shared notice says the additional credits expire December 31. A help page describing purchased credits as valid for 12 months after purchase does not make this grant usable until the following September. Check the grant's expiry separately from the expiry of purchased credits. The information available here does not specify an expiry time or time zone on December 31. OpenAI: Validity of purchased credits

How far a one-time grant offsets allowance changes depends on usage

The central distinction is between a one-time increase in the balance and the regular allowance that renews over time. The additional credits are gone once they are used up or expire.

Suppose usage beyond the regular allowance is constant each week. The number of weeks that 62,500 credits could cover would vary as follows.

Assumed usage beyond the regular allowance Calculated duration covered by 62,500 credits
2,500 credits per week 25 weeks
6,250 credits per week 10 weeks
12,500 credits per week 5 weeks

Illustrative calculations by LATENT: 62,500 divided by weekly excess consumption. These are not measured usage figures and exclude other balances or additional purchases. A calculated duration of 25 weeks does not allow the credits to remain available beyond the notice's December 31 expiry.

Someone who normally stays within the regular allowance might use little of the grant before it expires. Someone running several long tasks could find that it provides only a brief cushion. Neither outcome can be inferred from the face value alone.

The Work/Codex multiplier changing from 20x to 10x Plus does not by itself establish that only half as much of the same work can be done. The underlying Plus allowance and consumption per task also matter. The official pricing page likewise explains that credit rates cannot be used to work backward to the amount of work included in a subscription. OpenAI: Usage allowances and pricing

For ongoing use, a practical comparison is how quickly similar tasks exhaust the regular allowance after October 30 and how many credits they consume afterward. Assess the experience while the grant lasts separately from the value of the $200 monthly subscription once it is gone.

Check your own notice alongside your usage page

To decide whether this news applies to you, work through the following checks.

  1. Match your plan to your notice. Check whether you subscribe to Pro 200 and whether your own notice states the amount, effective date, and expiry. Someone else's screen is not evidence of your eligibility.
  2. Verify the balance on the usage page. Check Settings → Usage in ChatGPT or Usage & Billing in Codex. Receiving an email is different from the credits already appearing in your account. Where the official help page says to check
  3. Check eligible uses and purchase settings. Distinguish ChatGPT sign-in from API-key usage, look for restrictions on the grant, and check whether automatic top-ups are enabled.
  4. Record consumption for one task. Run a familiar task in your normal way and observe how much the balance falls once additional credits are being used. Remember that other tasks running at the same time may also contribute to that consumption.

The 62,500 credits could provide room to complete substantial work, but using them all is not a goal in itself. Assigning them to research, document organization, or code improvements that you want to finish before expiry makes their value easier to judge. Look beyond the year-end balance to what you completed and whether you can sustain the same workflow without the grant.

Public documentation checked September 30, 2026. Updated October 1 with the author's report confirming that the credits appeared in their account and that the balance decreased after the regular allowance was exhausted. The individual notice is treated as an anonymously shared source; no private email URLs or personal details are published. The full set of eligible recipients, regions, posting time, and special usage conditions for the 62,500 credits remain unverified. Public help pages can change, so assess your subscription using your own notice and usage page as well.